Security Groups

//Security Groups

Security Groups

Security groups allow managers to restrict access to program features within case management, time & billing or accounting. Each employee, or user can be added to the groups having rights to the desired functions. All users must be in a group, in order to access Perfect Practice. Your system is delivered with several common work groups defined. Select System Setup/utilities to view or modify the existing security groups.

Select Setup, Time and Billing, Security. The first Security group will be displayed. Click on the ellipsis to see all available groups. One group needs to be set as the Default Group. Perfect Practice has been delivered with the Data Entry group, as the Default group. Select Data Entry and click OK. You’ll see that the Default Group check box is checked. Only one group can have this check box checked.

To add a new group, click on the plus sign. Type in the name of the group you’re adding. Click on the check mark. Assign users to your group, by multi-selecting the users that are to be assigned to this group. Click on the right arrowhead to move the selected users to the new group.

Users can be members of several groups. They will have the highest access available from all groups of which they are members. You can also restrict access in the case management system, to specific cases and parties, by using the Set Filter Groups button. This will limit the entity lists to only those entities the user is authorized to view. Setting filter groups has no impact on accounting.

Unlike security groups, each user can only be assigned to one filter group. Clicking on the ellipsis can modify entity groups. Choose the filter group, you wish to modify.
To add a filter group, click on the plus sign. Type in the new filter group name and to save the group, click on the check mark. Click on the Group Name, in the Group Members box, to change a user’s filter group. Choose the new group from the dropdown.

2018-04-24T10:10:41+00:00